Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is comprised of committed, local community volunteers who are responsible for oversight of the organization's mission and plans for mission effectiveness and human resources, strategy development, financial plans, health care quality and patient safety, and compliance with audit and corporate responsibility regulations and policies. As a fiduciary Board of a tax-exempt organization, the Board meets or exceeds federal regulations surrounding member independence, community representation and expertise and competency. Board members participate in on-going educational opportunities to remain current on emerging health care issues and health system governance excellence.

The Board organizes its work through Committees, which include volunteer community members in addition to listed Board members. 

Martin Abraham, PhD

Richard (Dickie) Adkinson

Martha Bushey – Chairperson

Albert Cook II, MD (SEYH Medical Staff President)

Brian Corbin

Anthony DeSalvo, MD (SJWH Medical Staff President)

Sr. Maryann Golonka, H.M.

Sr. Carole Anne Griswold, H.M. – Vice Chairperson

David Hoffman, D.O. (SEBH Medical Staff President)

Sam Kooperman

Consuelo Mendez, M.D.

Shelley Odille – Secretary/Treasurer

Bipin Patel, M.D.

Patricia Sweeney

Wendy Webb


Donald Kline – Mercy Health Youngstown CEO & President MHPY

Brian Smith – Mercy Health Representative