Department News


St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital Level 1 Trauma Center
Brian S. Gruber, MD, Director of Trauma/Critical Care Services
Daneen Mace-Vadjunec, RN, Program Director

All trauma faculty, surgeons, staff, and personnel who provide direct or indirect patient care to trauma patients. The trauma program was recently surveyed by the American College of Surgeons for reverification as Level 1 Trauma Center; the trauma program received an excellent report with no deficiencies.

Nancy L. Gantt, MD
Elected Treasurer of the Association of Women Surgeons (AWS) 2010-11. AWS has 1600 members from the US and international community; its motto is to "inspire, encourage and enable women surgeons to realize their personal professional goals." Dr. Gantt is also an AWS liaison to the Ohio Chapter of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) 2009-2011, Member, ACS Committee on Medical Student Education, Ohio District #5 Committee on Applicants Moderator: Panel session¡XMedical Student Program at the Clinical Congress (ACS), Optimizing Medical School for a Career in Surgery, Chicago: October 3-4, 2010 , Presentation: Mentorship, Medical Student Program at the Clinical Congress (ACS), Chicago: October 4, 2010

Robert D. Lewis, MD
Achieved Maintenance of Certification (MOC) in Plastic Surgery; Dr. Lewis is the first plastic surgeon in our area to complete the MOC, which is an exhaustive process that was accomplished a year ahead of schedule

Michael K. Obeng, MD
Achieved certification by the American Board of Plastic Surgery


  • To HMHP Development Foundation: from Susan G. Komen Foundation the Comprehensively Pink Pro-gram, to provide outreach and education about breast health and cancer awareness; $30,000
  • To Jeremy J. Heffner, MD, PGY 5 Chief Surgical Resident: selected as the 2010 Hernia Resident/Fellow and the recipient of a $25,000 research grant from LifeCell, for one year of research on autologous mesenchymal stromal cells applied to bioprosthetic mesh to improve fascial repair.
  • To Thomas J. Chirichella, MD, PGY 3 Surgical Resident, Drs. J. Heffner, J. Martin, M. Obeng, J. Delatore, M. Langenberg, F. Pesa, et al. Transplantation of autologous mesenchymal stem cells in chronic wounds. Research proposal in progress.