2017 Scholarships awarded by the Mercy Foundation of Lorain County

The Mercy Foundation of Lorain County is pleased to announce its 2017 scholarship recipients. The Foundation is proud to offer academic scholarships annually, both internally and to the larger community.

The Francis Patterson, MD, Memorial Scholarship: Dr. Francis Patterson was a family practice physician at the former St. Joseph Hospital from 1924 until his death in 1967. The scholarship was established by his family for students pursuing careers in the healing arts. Congratulations to the following recipients:

  • Alyssa Melendez (Cleveland State University; Speech-Language Pathology)
  • Emily Edwards (Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine; Doctor of Podiatric Medicine)
  • Kathryn N. Scarvelli (John Carroll University; Psychology, Minor in Spanish 

The Paul C. Balcom Scholarship: This scholarship provides grants to qualifying children of part-time and full-time employees of Mercy.  Mr. Balcom served as president and CEO of Lorain Community Hospital and its successor, the merged Lorain Community/St. Joseph Regional Health Center from 1975 until he retired in 1997. Congratulations to the following recipients:

  • Emily Wagner (University of Pittsburgh; Neuroscience / Pre-Med)
  • Hannah K. Miller (Cleveland State University; Biology / Health Sciences / Pre-Medicine)
  • Dominic Jacovetti (Kent State University; Exercise Science)

Denis A. Radefeld Humanitarian Award: This award provides a Mercy associate with up to two weeks paid leave as well as a stipend to be used toward qualified expenses to participate in a mission-based project providing direct care to the poor and underserved.  Applicants must have at least five years of service with Mercy and the project must be approved as providing direct care for the poor and underserved and be consistent with the mission and values of Mercy. Congratulations to Joanne M. Gutacker Nursing Supervisor, Mercy Allen Hospital, on being selected as this year’s recipient.