About Us

Mercy Health is the largest healthcare system in Ohio and the seventh largest not-for-profit health system in the United States. 

With facilities throughout Mahoning, Trumbull, and Columbiana Counties, Mercy Health - Youngstown is proud to be the area’s preferred provider for health care services. 

St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital (SEHC), a major teaching facility of the Northeastern Ohio Medical University (NEOMED), is located in Youngstown, Ohio, midway between Cleveland and Pittsburgh, and is licensed for 550 beds and 60 bassinets. 

St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital, St. Joseph Warren Hospital, St. Elizabeth Boardman Hospital, are integrated institutions that along with St. Elizabeth Austintown Emergency Department, HM Home Health Services and Pharmacy, Hospice of the Valley, The Assumption Village, and Humility House represent an important element of Mercy Health - Youngstown, providing a full spectrum of quality services to residents of the greater Mahoning Valley area.

Joint Commission Accreditation
In June 2010, St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital successfully completed the Joint Commission survey, and the surveyors were very complimentary of the hospital staff.

Level One Trauma Center
In 1995, St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital was verified as a Level 1 Trauma Center by the American College of Surgeons and has retained that designation to this day, with the distinction as the only Level 1 Trauma center in the area. We are proud of our multidisciplinary team of surgeons and staff who are the leaders in development, evaluation and continu-ous quality improvement of trauma care in the region.  The program was surveyed in September 2010 and received a successful reverification status, with no deficiencies. Please visit the Trauma website for detailed information about the program.

Northeastern Ohio Medical University
The Department of Surgery is proud to be affiliated with Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED).  Located in Rootstown, Ohio, NEOMED's basic concept, which was outlined by the 109th Ohio General Assembly, was to create a medical school through a consortium of three state universities in northeast Ohio (Akron, Kent State, and Youngstown State) and hospital facilities in the Akron, Youngstown, and Canton areas. Our association with NEOMED began in October 1974. The medical school designates qualified component hospitals such as St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital for student rotations and clinical instruction. Each component hospital assumes the responsibility for financing graduate medical education, and NEOMED assumes responsibility for financing undergraduate education. The major objectives of this cooperative venture are to strengthen the present residency programs and to recruit competent physicians who have a commitment to education and quality patient care. The clinical faculty of the medical school is made up of full-time and voluntary faculty from only the component hospitals. 

One of the major benefits in the residency teaching program is the commitment to ongoing graduate medical education. NEOMED mission is based on the premise that strong residency programs facilitate the development of strong undergraduate medical education programs.  

Only those hospitals with a core of approved residency programs are designated for clerkship teaching. At St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital, Dr. Nancy L. Gantt is clerkship director for the Department of Surgery. Four times a year, the medical students rotate through the Department of  Surgery at St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital and choose the specialty services of interest.