Meet the Director and Team — Pharmacy Residency at Lorain Hospital

Welcome from the Program Director

Thank you for your interest in our pharmacy residency program. I am pleased you have taken the time to learn more about our program at Mercy Health Lorain Hospital. 

Our pharmacy department’s mission is to ensure our patients achieve the best medication-related outcomes possible, and our residents are integral to our pursuit of this mission. The goals of our PGY 1 program are to build on the Doctor of Pharmacy education and outcomes to contribute to the development of pharmacists responsible for medication-related care of patients, eligible for board certification and eligible for post-graduate year two (PGY 2) pharmacy residency training. 

Residents are embedded in our integrated, patient-centered practice model and obtain experience in a wide variety of practice settings under the tutelage of highly experienced and caring preceptors. They gain valuable experience through the design and execution of their residency research project, longitudinal committee and leadership activities, the opportunity to teach and mentor pharmacy students and involvement with professional organizations. 

Our program is fully accredited with the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP). The pharmacy staff at our institution includes several board-certified pharmacotherapy specialists (BCPS) and the staff also precepts Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience (APPE) and IPPE students from a variety of schools. 
Thank you for your interest in our program. We look forward to the possibility of meeting with you!

Sarah Suffel, PharmD, BCPS, CACP | Program Director

Dr. Suffel serves as the residency program director for the PGY1 program and is also the director of pharmacy for the department of pharmacy. She received her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from Ohio Northern University in 2009. She worked as a clinical specialist at the institution for seven years before moving into the director role. Sarah started the residency program in 2015 and achieved ASHP accreditation in 2016. Current duties include coordinating Pharmacy and Therapeutic Committee activities, serving as program director for the PGY1 residency program, supervising the department activities and staff, and serving on numerous hospital committees. In the residency program, Sarah precepts orientation, research, and the administrative learning experiences. Sarah is also double board certified, as a pharmacotherapy specialist and certified anticoagulant care provider.    

Core Faculty

Sarah Boone, PharmD
Michelle Cardenas, PharmD
Lori Ernsthausen, PharmD
Joshua Harold, PharmD, BCPS
Melody Hunker, MBA, BSN, RN
Shannon Just, PharmD
Erin Laraway, PharmD
Gregory Little, RPh
Julie Ritchie, RPh
Brian Romito, MD
Balaji Saravanan, MD
Sarah Suffel, PharmD, BCPS