Lourdes offers a variety of free classes to assist you and your entire family in meeting the challenges and changes associated with childbirth and parenting. Whether you are already a parent or expecting your first child, you will find these classes helpful and interesting. The more you know, the better prepared you will be. For more information on any of these classes, please call 270-444-2243.

 

Childbirth Classes: Takes place at Lourdes Marshall Nemer Pavilion, Borders Community Room. This class is available either as a four-week course (four Mondays during a month), or as a one-day course (all content covered in one Saturday). It includes breathing and relaxation techniques, facts about pain management with medications or an epidural, C-section information, fetal monitoring, and more. The course also includes a personal tour of the Lourdes Little Miracles Birthing Center. Other topics covered include: the labor process, birth, hospitalization, postpartum, breastfeeding, and infant care.

2017 Four-Week Classes: (6-8pm)

  • February 6, 13, 20, 27                                                          
  • April 3, 10, 17, 24                                                     
  • June 5, 12, 19, 26
  • August 7, 14, 21, 28
  • October 2, 9, 16, 21

2017 Bootcamp Classes: (9am-4:30pm)

  • January 21
  • March 18
  • May 20
  • July 15
  • September 16
  • November 18

 

Breastfeeding Classes: Takes place at Lourdes Marshall Nemer Pavilion, Borders Community Room. Up-to-date information the benefits of breastfeeding, techniques, and positioning. Also includes the anatomy and physiology of lactation and pumping/storing milk. This is also the last class of the four-week course.

2017 Classes: (6-8pm)

  • February 27                                                          
  • April 24                                                     
  • June 26
  • August 28
  • October 21

 

Infant/Child CPR Class: Takes place at Lourdes Marshall Nemer Pavilion, Borders Community Room. During this class, our certified CPR instructor will teach you the steps for performing infant and child CPR with practice and return demonstrations. Size limit is 6 people per class. This is NOT an official certification course.

2017 Classes: (6-8pm)       

  • Thursday, January 19
  • Thursday, February 23       
  • Thursday, March 30
  • Monday, April 17
  • Tuesday, May 9                   
  • Tuesday, June 20
  • Wednesday, July 26
  • Tuesday, August 29
  • Tuesday, September 19      
  • Monday, October 30           
  • Tuesday, November 14
  • Tuesday, December 19

 

Sibling Class: If you have a child between the ages of 2-12, we will help introduce them to the idea of a new sibling in the family, including introducing them to the Little Miracles Birthing Center.

2017 Classes: (6:30-7:30pm)

  • Tuesday, February 7
  • Tuesday, May 9
  • Tuesday, August 8
  • Tuesday, November 7

 

Click to download: