Nationally recognized patient care and safety

Mercy is regularly recognized for high-quality care including: 
Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services: 4 star ranking 
o Five-Star Recipient for Treatment of Heart Attack in 2017 
o Five-Star Recipient for Treatment of Heart Failure for 2 Years in a Row (2016-2017
o Five-Star Recipient for Treatment of Pneumonia for 15 Years in a Row (2003-2017) 
o Recipient of the Healthgrades Patient Safety Excellence Award™ for 3 Years in a Row (2015-2017) 
o Named Among the Top 5% in the Nation for Patient Safety for 3 Years in a Row (2015-2017)

We measure the quality of your care by how well we meet your expectations and the highest national standards of safety and effectiveness. We strive to provide you with care that is:

Safe - avoiding injuries from the care that is intended to help you
Timely - reducing waits and sometimes harmful delays for you who receive care and also for the person who gives care to you
Effective - providing care to you and all other patients who can benefit and refraining from care if you and other patients are not likely to benefit
Efficient - avoiding waste, in particular waste of equipment, supplies, ideas, and energy
Equitable - providing care that does not vary in quality because of gender, ethnicity, geographic location, and socioeconomic status
Patient-centered - providing care that respects your preferences, needs, and values and ensuring that your values guide all clinical decisions

How our quality is evaluated

Several regional and national agencies are our partners in assuring that we deliver quality care to our patients. We are held to high standards by government agencies such as Medicare and Medicaid and by national accrediting bodies such as the Joint Commission, the nation's leading accrediting body in health care.
We also submit quality statistics to groups such as Hospital Compare so that our current and future patients can determine where our care stands among our regional and national peers.

Mercy is committed to providing high-quality, compassionate care. As such, Mercy publicly reports its hospital quality of care data because the communities that it serves have a right to this information to make an informed decision on where to obtain the best healthcare treatment.

The quality measures that we collect and report were developed by national healthcare quality organizations based on extensive scientific evidence. These measures reflect a hospitals' overall quality of patient care. Mercy strives continuously to give all patients the best-recommended care.

Quality Check

Quality Check is an online service offered by The Joint Commission that allows you to check accreditation and compare information on Joint Commission accredited health care organizations. The site features a user-friendly format with checks, pluses and minuses to help you compare health care organizations in a number of key areas including quality of care and patient safety.


Following are the links to Mercy facilities on The Joint Commission Quality Check website.


Hospital Compare

The Hospital Compare website was created through the efforts of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) along with the Hospital Quality Alliance (HQA).  The HQA is a public-private collaboration established to promote reporting on hospital quality of care.  The HQA consists of organizations that represent consumers, hospitals, doctors, employers, accrediting organizations and Federal agencies. The information on this website can be used by any adult needing hospital care.


Click on Hospital Compare and search for the Mercy Health hospital by name, city and zip code or state. The site will give you information on how we perform on each of the core quality measures compared with other hospitals in the state of Ohio and nationwide. Please note that although some of the information in this link may be for the same data that is being reported on The Join Commission Quality Check website above, the time intervals are different.