Welcome from the Program Director

Welcome and thank you for your interest in our PGY1 Pharmacy Residency Program at Mercy Health St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital. Our goal is to train pharmacy residents to become confident and competent practitioners in the acute care setting. Our program provides the mentorship and flexibility necessary to tailor the residency year to fit your practice interests and help you to achieve your personal goals. Fully accredited since 2005 with the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital is committed to challenging our residents and providing them with the necessary clinical problem-solving skills to be successful in any practice setting. With more than 10 board-certified pharmacists on our faculty in varying specialties, we strive to provide you with a strong foundation through a hands-on learning experience.  

Beyond our clinical learning experiences, St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital places a strong emphasis on teaching. Residents participate in the teaching certificate program at Northeast Ohio Medical University School of Pharmacy and have multiple precepting opportunities for APPE students from Ohio Northern University and Northeast Ohio Medical University.

We look forward to speaking with you about the residency opportunities available at St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital and thank you for your consideration of our program. Please contact us with any questions.

Allison R. Lauver, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP | Program Director

Pharmacy School: Duquesne University School of Pharmacy, 2009
Residency: UPMC Mercy (PGY1), West Virginia University Hospitals (Critical Care PGY2)

Dr. Lauver started at St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital as a clinical pharmacy specialist in the Emergency Department in 2011 until transitioning her clinical role to the Surgical Intensive Care Unit in 2013. She assumed the role of the PGY1 pharmacy residency program director in July 2020. Her clinical interests include trauma and neurocritical care. She is also an assistant professor in the college of graduate studies and clinical assistant professor of pharmacy practice in the school of pharmacy at Northeast Ohio Medical University.

Core Faculty

Aubrey M. Abbas, PharmD, BCPS
Sean Bennett, PharmD, BCCCP
Angela Bertok, PharmD, BCPS
Nicholas E. Campbell, PharmD, BCCCP
Lauren A. Fife, PharmD, BCPS
Matthew Gatchel, PharmD
Stephanie Gensler, PharmD
Aaron Kovacik, PharmD
Helena V. Ladd, PharmD, BCPS
Jennifer McKay, PharmD, BCPS
Kiley Moore, PharmD, BCPS
Vincent Peyko, PharmD, BCPS, AQ-ID
Janelle Rhodes, PharmD, BCPS
Brian J. Sabol, PharmD
Daniel Testa, PharmD, BCGP
Matthew A. Tricomi, PharmD, BCCCP
Brandon Wilds, PharmD, BCOP
Martha J. Zimmerman, PharmD, BCPS

Contact Us

Program Director: Dr. Allison R. Lauver
Email Address: allison_lauver@mercy.com
Phone: 330-480-3829