Mercy Health - Anderson Hospital’s Physicians’ Charitable Foundation Awards College Scholarships to 12 Outstanding Local Students

(CINCINNATI; June 9, 2016) – Mercy Health - Cincinnati, which provides advanced, quality care with compassion in your neighborhood through its care network, announces that Physicians’ Charitable Foundation, located at Mercy Health – Anderson Hospital, has helped outstanding local students with college scholarships.

“The Physicians believe in the youth of our community. These young men and women will one day serve and support this community and we are pleased to assist talented area students with their intentions to pursue healthcare careers,” said Donald C. Buckley, MD, of the Physicians’ Charitable Foundation.

Now in its 17th year, the Physicians’ Charitable Foundation recognized 12 high school seniors with scholarship awards of $2,000 each:
• Taylor Boggs, Cincinnati Country Day, will attend Indiana University and intends to become a physician
• Alissa Burns, New Richmond High School, will attend the University of Cincinnati to become a physical therapist 
• Samuel Farmer, Anderson High School, will attend the University of Cincinnati to become a Physician
• Luke Fickenworth, Anderson High School, will attend Ohio Northern University and intends to become a physician
• Eric Hall, Anderson High School, will study to become a physician assistant and then join the Air Force to become a Combat Rescue Officer
• Chantchina Han, Anderson High School, will study to become a pharmacist
• Margaret Harris, Anderson High School, will attend Thomas More College to receive a BSN in Nursing and a doctorate in Anesthesiology to become a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist
• Maria Henriquez, Turpin High School attend Northeastern University to become a neuroscientist and medical researcher
• Matthew Morris, Anderson High School, will attend Miami University to become a physician
• Cara Schildmeyer, Anderson High School, will study to become a physician assistant or physician
• Morgan Sigourney, Batavia High School, will attend Brigham Young University to become a psychologist
• Elaine Thorner, Turpin High School, will attend Xavier University to become a nurse

The foundation awarded three 2016 Junior Science Awards, valued at $500 each, to the following students:
• Panayotis Manganaria, Anderson High School
• Katherine McHugh, McNicholas High School
• Dana Middendorf, Turpin High School

An additional $500 stipend went to the science department at each Junior Science Award winner’s school.

The Physicians’ Charitable Foundation also awarded Anderson High School senior Luke Fickenworth the Dr. Victor VanGilse scholarship. This is a special award given in honor of the generosity of spirit of Dr. VanGilse, a surgeon who was committed to the education of aspiring physicians. His colleagues created the award to assist a student with the potential to continue his legacy. Luke intends to study pre-med and serves as a volunteer at Anderson Hospital. 

The Physicians’ Charitable Foundation determines recipients based on the students’ personal statements, letters of recommendation and academic achievement. The committee gives special consideration to students who have volunteered at the hospital or are the children of hospital employees. The Physicians’ Charitable Foundation welcomes donations to the scholarship fund. The Physicians’ Charitable Foundation is a non-profit organization created and supported by physicians.